Land Transport Bylaw 2017

This policy was adopted by Council at its meeting on 27 November 2017 and became effective from 27 November 2017. It amalgamates and replaced the following Bylaws:

  • Traffic and Parking Restrictions Bylaw 2007; and
  • Stock Control and Keeping of Poultry, Bees and Pigs Bylaw 2005.

The benefits of the Land Transport Bylaw 2017 are:

  • one single bylaw incorporating the management and control of all traffic and stock movements rather than individual bylaws;
  • the opportunity to include other road use activities requiring regulation; and
  • updating and including legislation references.

Land Transport Bylaw 2017(PDF, 494KB)

Changes to Land Transport Bylaw 2017 Speed Limit Schedules

New speed limits are in effect for most rural and rural residential roads in Horowhenua.

The new speed limit schedules reduce speed limits to 80 kilometres per hour (km/h) on most rural roads; and 60 km/h on most rural residential roads, unsealed roads and selected rural roads.

While the speed limit changes mainly focus on rural areas, some urban roads are also affected, with some 70 km/h speed limit zones in urban fringe areas changed to 50 km/h.

In addition, new variable speed school zones apply around Levin East School and Waiopehu College; Fairfield School; Levin North School; and Levin School and Levin Intermediate. Speed limits in these zones are now 40 km/h approximately 30 minutes before and 30 minutes after school, and 50 km/h at other times.

These changes came into effect on 15 August 2019, following public engagement between January and March on a district-wide review of rural road speed limits.

The changed schedules are available below.

Land Transport Bylaw 2017 - Schedules(PDF, 3MB)