Rubbish & Recycling

Horowhenua District Council provides Solid Waste (rubbish) disposal facilities for residents and visitors to our District through a Kerbside Bag Collection service, and by providing Waste Transfer Stations in Foxton and Shannon.

A Kerbside Recycling operation is also provided to complement the kerbside refuse collection. Five permanent recycling stations are provided at Tokomaru, Opiki, Foxton, Shannon, and Levin, with three summer recycling stations provided at Waitarere Beach, Waikawa Beach and Foxton Beach over the summer period. Further information is available below.