Community Plans

Horowhenua is made up of many different neighbourhoods and communities, all of whom have their own unique identity and special characteristics from the Tararua Ranges to the sea.

We want to ensure we keep what’s special and support projects that are important to each community.

A Community Plan is the voice of that community and will highlight their goals and aspirations. It will outline what the community wants to preserve in their area and outline ways to enhance and develop other areas of importance.

Adopted Community Plans

Council has formally adopted the Waitārere Beach, Ōhau, Manakau and Foxton Beach / Te Wharangi Community Plans. These plans were developed based on extensive engagement with the community and set out the vision, values, priorities and actions of each community.

Te Mahere ā-Hapori o Waitārere | Waitārere Beach Community Plan(PDF, 8MB)
Te Mahere ā-Hapori o Ōhau | Ōhau Community Plan(PDF, 5MB)
Te Mahere ā-Hapori o Manakau | Manakau Community Plan(PDF, 15MB) 
Foxton Beach / Te Wharangi Community Plan(PDF, 994KB)  

Community Plans under development

Council is currently working with the Levin community to create their Community Plan. If you live, work or play in Levin we want to hear from you.

Tell us what makes your community special and what your dreams and aspirations are for your community.

If this isn’t you don’t worry! Council will be working with the other communities in the district over the coming years. The aim is to have Community Plans which represent all of the district.