Local Elections 2022

Our next local election is on Saturday 8 October 2022.

The elections are held every three years by postal vote.

Notice of 2022 Triennial Local Authority Elections(PDF, 144KB)

If you're an enrolled voter, you'll get a voting information pack in the mail. To make sure you receive your voting papers, you can check or update your postal address on the Vote NZ website.

Voting papers will be sent to all eligible voters from Friday 16 September 2022.

Voting will close at 12 noon on Saturday 8 October 2022.

Find out more on the VoteLocal website.


  • Consider being a candidate – 1 March 2022 to 15 July 2022
  • Candidate nominations open – 15 July 2022
  • Pre-candidate information briefing - 3 August 2022
  • Candidate nominations close – 12 August 2022
  • Candidates announced – 17 August 2022
  • Final electoral roll certified by Electoral Officer - 12 September 2022
  • Voting papers sent to enrolled voters - 16 September to 21 September 2022
  • Voting opens - 16 September to 8 October 2022
  • Voting closes at 12 noon - 8 October 2022
  • Progress and preliminary results published - 8 October 2022
  • Final results announced - 14 October to 19 October 2022.


Horowhenua is divided into five wards.

Registered voters elect a Mayor and 12 Councillors who represent five wards – the wards and number of Councillors associated with each ward are:

  • Levin – five Councillors
  • Kere Kere – two Councillors
  • Waiopehu – two Councillors
  • Miranui – one Councillor
  • Horowhenua (Māori) - two councillors.

As well as the Council, voters will also elect:

  • Five members of the Te Awahou Foxton Community Board
  • Two members to represent the Horowhenua Kairanga Constituency of the Manawatū-Whanganui Regional Council (Horizons).

View Processed Nomination Forms

To view nominations as they are processed visit www.electionz.com

Candidate Handbook & Information

Our handbook for election candidates is available for downloading below.

2022 Local Government Elections - Candidate Handbook | Pōtitanga Kawanatanga ā Rohe - Pukapuka Aratohu Kaitonopōti(PDF, 15MB) (updated 1 July 2022)

Electionz.com will produce a presentation for people nominated for election, within the nomination period. This will be published here on our website as soon as it is available.

Who is electionz.com?

electionz.com is New Zealand’s leading election management company. electionz.com has managed more than 3,500 elections and processed almost 100 million postal and online votes in NZ and Australia since 2000.

It is contracted by many councils in New Zealand to carry out their three-yearly local body elections. Other clients include organisations such as Fonterra, lawyers, accountants, doctors, teachers, engineers, school boards, unions, iwi, private companies and many other groups that require elections.

Based in Christchurch, electonz.com is firmly focused on making participating in the democratic process as easy as possible for all New Zealanders. The company’s integrated database and vote processing systems have been independently certified.

You can contact electionz.com by calling 0800 398 683 or by emailing info@electionz.com.

Who is our Electoral Officer?

Profile image of Warwick Lampp from electionz.com.

Warwick Lampp is the Chief Returning Officer for electionz.com – an independent company that helps its clients hold elections.

Mr Lampp has been involved in local body elections for over 30 years.  Born in Marton in Rangitikei, he completed a business studies degree at Massey University before moving into a local government career, then election management.

Now a resident of Tauranga, he travels New Zealand helping councils, including Horowhenua District Council, to manage its elections.  Warwick is also Electoral Officer at Rangītikei and Manawatū to name a few.

You can contact Warwick by emailing wlampp@electionz.com or by calling 0800 666 048.

The Deputy Electoral Officer is Ashley Huria, you can contact Ashley by emailing ashleych@horowhenua.govt.nz or by calling 06 366 0999.