

Horowhenua District Council Further Notice of Election

Nominations have closed for the 2022 Triennial Local Authority Elections. Listed below are details of the confirmed candidates for Horowhenua District Council.

Where elections are required, they will be conducted by postal voting using the First Past the Post electoral system. Voting will open on Friday 16 September 2022 and will close at 12 noon on Saturday 8 October 2022.

Mayor (1 vacancy)

JENNINGS, Sam (The Change We Need)

KAYE-SIMMONS, Victoria (Independent)

WANDEN, Bernie

Kere Kere General Ward (2 Vacancies)

ALLAN, David BRANNIGAN, Ross GIRLING, John

RUSSELL, Brett (Simply The Best)

Miranui General Ward (1 Vacancy)

KETU, Robert OLSEN, Paul

Levin General Ward (5 Vacancies)

BARKER, Mike (Independent)

GRIMSTONE, Clint

JENNINGS, Sam (Standing Up For Horowhenua)

KIRK, Athol (Independent)

MASOE, Jane PITT, Veronica TAHIWI, Kelly

TUKAPUA, Piri-Hira Josephine

VAN DEN BERG, Carl (To serve my community)

YOUNG, Alan

Waiopehu General Ward (2 Vacancies)

AYLWARD, Barry BOYLE, Rogan PROCTER, Jonathan

Horowhenua (Māori) Ward (2 Vacancies)

HORI TE PA, Nina

O'CARROLL, Troy (Whakawehi Marae Trustees)

TAMIHANA, Justin



Te Awahou Foxton Community Board (5 Vacancies)

CHAMBERS, Trevor

FOX, Nola (Working together for Foxton & Beach)

GIRLING, John ROACHE, David RUSSELL, Brett

SANSON, Lindsay TAMIHANA, Justin

(Simply The Best)

Enrolment and Special Voting Arrangements

Horowhenua District Council residents who are not listed on the final electoral roll for these elections can enrol by calling 0800 36 76 56, visiting the Electoral Commission website at www.vote.nz, texting your name and address to 3676 to get a form sent to you or by emailing a request to enquiries@elections.govt.nz up to 4pm on Friday 7 October 2022.

Horowhenua District Council ratepayers who are not listed on the final electoral roll for these elections can obtain enrolment forms from Horowhenua District Council, 126 Oxford St, Levin up to 12 noon on Saturday 8 October 2022. Online applications for ratepayer elector registration can also be made online at www.electionz.com/ratepayer.

Special voting documents will be available from Friday 16 September to Saturday 8 October 2022 at:

- HDC Civic Building 126 Oxford Street, Levin (Monday to Friday, except Wednesdays, 9am to 5pm and Wednesdays 9.30am to 5pm)
- Te Whare Mahana 32 Bristol Street, Levin (Mondays 10am-2pm)
- Shannon Library Plimmer Terrace, Shannon (Tuesdays 10am-2pm)
- Te Awahou Nieuwe Stroom 92 Main Street, Foxton (Thursdays 10am-2pm).

If time allows, special voting documents can be posted out directly to electors. The completed voting paper, however, must be in the hands of the Electoral Officer by 12 noon on Saturday 8 October 2022.

Warwick Lampp
Electoral Officer – Horowhenua District Council
PO Box 3138
Christchurch 8140
horowhenuadc@electionz.com
0800 666 048
www.horowhenua.govt.nz