Rubbish & Recycling - Fees & Charges

Rubbish Recycling

Horowhenua District Council's fees and charges for the 2023/2024 financial year, adopted by Council on 28 June 2023 as part of the Long Term Plan 2021-2041 Amendment (LTPA) and Annual Plan 2023-2024 (AP), are available below.

All fees are stated as GST inclusive and are effective from 1 July 2023 to 30 June 2024. Council reserves the right to review any fees and charges at any time. Please check with Council for any updates. 

Council Rubbish Bags  |  Levin Waste Transfer Station  |  Foxton and Shannon Waste Transfer Stations  |  E-Waste (Electronic Waste)  |  Special, Prohibited Wastes and Other Fees  |  Solid Waste Collectors & Recycling Crates


Council Rubbish Bags

Please note the above charge relates to bags sold at Council service centres. There may be some variation in prices for bags sold at other establishments.

Levin Waste Transfer Station

The Levin Refuse Transfer Station (RTS) is privately owned and operated by MidWest Disposals Ltd. Fees and charges that apply for the Levin RTS, set out by MidWest Diposals Ltd, are available below (note the Special and Prohibited fees are not the same as the Council-operated Foxton and Shannon Waste Transfer Stations).

MidWest Disposals Ltd Fees & Charges for Levin Refuse Transfer Station(PDF, 73KB)

For further information, phone MidWest Disposals Ltd on 06 367 2915.


Foxton and Shannon Waste Transfer Stations

Fees and charges for the Foxton and Shannon Waste Transfer Stations are available below. 


E-Waste (Electronic Waste)

E-waste can be taken to our Foxton and Shannon Transfer Station and Resource Recovery Park for recycling. E-waste is discarded electrical or electronic devices such as televisions, computers, printers, cameras, batteries, and fixed-line and mobile phones.

Special, Prohibited Wastes and Other Fees

Solid Waste Collectors & Recycling Crates