2016 Election

The local body elections for the Horowhenua District were held on 8 October 2016.

Local Elections Final Result

The Final Result is now available below.

Declaration of Result - Horowhenua District Council 2016 Triennial Elections(PDF, 40KB)

Election Donations and Expenses

The candidates declarations of Electoral Expenses and Donations for the 2016 elections can be viewed on our Electoral Expenses and Donations for 2016 Local Elections page.


Horowhenua is divided into four wards. Voters elected 11 representatives this year:

  • Horowhenua District Council Mayor  
  • two councillors elected by the electors of the Kere Kere Ward  
  • one councillor elected by the electors of the Miranui Ward 
  • two councillors elected by the electors of the Waiopehu Ward 
  • five councillors elected by the electors of the Levin Ward. 

As well as the Council, the voters also elected:

  • Five members of the Foxton Community Board 
  • Two members to represent the Horowhenua Kairanga Constituency of the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council (Horizons) 
  • Seven members of the MidCentral District Health Board.  

If you own property within the Horowhenua District, but do not live here, you can apply to go on the ratepayer roll. You will be able to vote in the area where you pay rates, and the area where you live.