Māori Ward

Māori Wards/Constituencies: Guidance for candidates and voters

In 2020/2021 Horowhenua District Council resolved to establish Māori wards. Up until then, there were three councils with Māori wards or constituencies but as at 2022, there are now 35 across the motu. The ability to successfully achieve this was due to a change in legislation which removed the poll provision that could overturn council resolutions to establish Māori wards/constituencies.

This guidance is for candidates and voters who wish to participate in running for a Māori ward/constituency and voters on the Māori roll.

Elections 2022 - Guidance on Māori wards - Information for candidates and voters in the 2022 local elections(PDF, 678KB)