Youth Excellence Scholarships

Established in 2004 and awarded annually, the Horowhenua Youth Excellence Scholarships are designed to reward young people's efforts in particular areas:

  • Community Services - for recognition of outstanding service to the community
  • Excellence in Sport
  • Excellence in Academia
  • Excellence in Art and Culture

These scholarships are designed to not only recognise achievements and contributions, but also to assist the recipient to continue succeeding in their endeavours with each one being worth $250.

Criteria for Youth Excellence Scholarships  

  • Youth Excellence Scholarships reward young people's efforts in community service or excellence in sport, academia or art and culture. 
  • To be eligible for these scholarships, the nominee must live in the Horowhenua District and be between the ages of 12 and 24 years. 
  • These Scholarships are also designed to help youth in the Horowhenua reach their potential and can be utilised to fund activities that applicants are participating in such as sports, arts, cultural, academic or work in the community.

2019 Horowhenua Youth Excellence Scholarships Closed

A total of 12 scholarships across the four different categories listed above were available this year and recipients and their whānau will be invited to attend the Civic Awards evening on Thursday, 29 November, when the awards will be presented.

Past Recipients

Past Youth Excellence Scholarship recipients can be viewed on our Past Award Recipients page.