District Licensing Committee (DLC)

Invitation to apply for membership – Horowhenua District Licensing Committee

Horowhenua District Council invites applications from interested members of our community to become list members of the Horowhenua District Licensing Committee (DLC).

The DLC considers and determines applications for licences and managers’ certificates, temporary authorities and special licences made under the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.

While a committee of Council, a DLC operates with the powers of a commission of inquiry, and functions under the regulatory framework as a semi-judicial board of inquiry, making decisions that can be appealed. 

DLC list member appointments are for up to five years, with the current term expiring in December.  Horowhenua District Council also invites current list members wanting to retain their appointment to re-apply.

Application forms:

Invitation for applications for Horowhenua District Licensing Committee List-members.(PDF, 2MB)

Applications close at 4pm on Thursday 8 November 2018.

For further information, please contact Vai Miller, Compliance Manager, on vaimoanam@horowhenua.govt.nz

Horowhenua District Licensing Committee

At a Council meeting on Thursday, 4 December 2013, Council appointed the following persons as Public List Members to the Horowhenua District Licensing Committee:

  • Mr Philip Comber 
  • Mr Roger Perring 
  • Mr Martyn Slade.

At a meeting of Council on 2 July 2014 the following persons were appointed in addition to the above:

  • Mr Craig Fleury 
  • Mr Allen Little.

Appointments are for a 5 year period expiring 17 December 2018.

The Chairperson of the committee is Councillor Ross Brannigan and the Deputy Chairperson is Councillor Neville Gimblett. The Committee is appointed as required by section 186 of the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012 and will consider and determine all applications relating to licences and certificates applied for from 18 December 2013.