

# Council

# OPEN MINUTES CONFIRMED

Minutes of a meeting of Council held in the Council Chambers, 126-148 Oxford St, Levin on Wednesday 10 May 2023 at 2:00 pm.

#### **MEMBERSHIP**

Mayor His Worship The Mayor Bernie Wanden

**Deputy Mayor** Councillor David Allan Councillors Councillor Mike Barker

Councillor Rogan Boyle
Councillor Ross Brannigan
Councillor Clint Grimstone
Councillor Nina Hori Te Pa
Councillor Sam Jennings
Councillor Paul Olsen
Councillor Jonathan Procter
Councillor Justin Tamihana
Councillor Piri-Hira Tukapua

Councillor Alan Young

# IN ATTENDANCE

**Meeting Secretary** 

Reporting Officer Monique Davidson Chief Executive

Daniel Haigh Group Manager - Community Infrastructure
Jacinta Straker Group Manager - Organisation Performance

Brent Harvey Group Manager - Community Experience and Services
David McCorkindale Group Manager - Community Vision and Delivery
Blair Spencer Group Manager - Housing & Business Development

Ashley Huria

Grayson Rowse

Jody Lygo

Carolyn Dick

Business Performance Manager

Principal Advisor – Democracy

Democracy Support Officer

Strategic Planning Manager

Janna Isles Strategic Planner

Lisa Campbell Strategic Communications Manager



# 1 Apologies

# **Apology**

Resolution number CO/2023/94

MOVED by Cr Wanden, seconded Cr Jennings:

That the apology from Councillor Procter for lateness be accepted.

**CARRIED** 

# 2 Late Items

Late submissions - noted under 2.4.

#### 3 Declaration of Interest

Cr Tamihana advised the meeting that he had made a submission as Chair of his marae trust representing the collective view of his marae as opposed to his individual views, and he remains open to considering all matter presented before exercising his decision making. As such he does not believe he need to declare a conflict of interest in the matter before Council at this meeting.

# 4 Reports for Decision

# 4.1 Receipt of Submissions and Hearing of Submitters - Draft Long Term Plan Amendment and Draft 2023/24 Annual Plan

To receive submissions on the Draft Long Term Plan Amendment and Draft 2023/24 Annual Plan, and hear from submitters.

# Resolution Number CO/2023/95

MOVED by Mayor Wanden, seconded Cr Allan:

That Report 23/296 Receipt of Submissions and Hearing of Submitters - Draft Long Term Plan Amendment and Draft 2023/24 Annual Plan be received.

That this matter or decision be recognised as not significant in terms of s76 of the Local Government Act 2002.

That Council receive the submissions on the Draft Long Term Plan Amendment and Draft 2023/24 Annual Plan lodged by 4pm 1 May 2023.

That Council receive the late submissions on the Draft Long Term Plan Amendment and Draft 2023/24 Annual Plan lodged after 4pm 1 May 2023.

CARRIED



#### **Submitters**

Brett Russell spoke to their submission number 262.

Levi Milldove spoke to their submission number 15.

John Girling, on behalf of Te Awahou Foxton Community Board spoke to their submission number 258.

Eugene Henare, on behalf of Warena te Kerehi Whanau Land Trust spoke to their submission number 390.

Chris Hartwell spoke to their submission number 125.

Carol Dyer spoke to their submission number 399.

Charles Rudd, on behalf of He Mokai o Papatuanuku spoke to their submission number 382.

Tony Strawbridge spoke to their submission number 155, 156, 157 & 158.

Christine Mitchell spoke to their submission number 344.

Phil Richards spoke to their submission number 170.

The meeting adjourned for a break at 4.00pm.

The meeting resumed at 4.15pm.

Peter Thompson on behalf of Over it, via zoom spoke to their submission number 361.

Peter Thompson via zoom spoke to their submission number 256.

Gaire Thompson, on behalf of Thompson Property Group (TPG) LTD via zoom, spoke to their submission number 349.

Bernadette Casey via zoom spoke to their submission number 257.

Terri Grimmett via zoom spoke to their submission number 269.

Christopher Drinkwater spoke to their submission number 372.

Jean Cohen via zoom spoke to their submission number 118.

Ethan Bray spoke to their submission number 189.

Geoff Kane spoke to their submission number 209.

# Cr Young exited the meeting at 5.42pm.

The meeting adjourned for a break at 6.05pm.

The meeting resumed at 6.40pm.

Murray Staples spoke to their submission number 217.

Parekua Ann MacGregor spoke to their submission number 295.

Bruce Eccles on behalf of the Waitarere Beach Progressive & Ratepayers Association spoke to their submission number 254.

Cr Olsen informed the table that he is a member of Federation Farmers, but did not need to declare conflict of interest in the hearing of the next submitter.

Peter Matich on behalf of Federated Farmers spoke to their submission number 345.

Tomo Nicholson spoke to their submission number 149.

Jason Reid spoke to their submission number 352.



The Mayor adjourned the meeting for the evening at 7:50pm, following a closing karakia from Cr Tamihana

The meeting resumed at 1.00pm on Thursday 11 May 2023.

# Resolution Number CO/2023/96

MOVED by Mayor Wanden, seconded Cr Allan:

That the apologies from Councillor Young and Councillor Hori Te Pa be accepted.

**CARRIED** 

Rebecca Kilsby-Halliday spoke to their submission number 234 & 212.

Gwyneth Schibli spoke on behalf of her submission number 388.

Sara Carter on behalf of Electra via zoom spoke to their submission number 350.

David Grant on behalf of Te Awaroa Manawatu Trust spoke to their submission number 358.

Vivienne Bold spoke to their submission number 376.

Greg Carlyon on behalf of PNG spoke to their submission number 325.

Jennifer Rowan spoke to their submission number 264.

Peter Everton on behalf of Lakeview Farm LTD spoke to their submission number 401.

William Huzziff spoke to their submission number 346 & 365.

The meeting adjourned for a break at 2.50pm.

The meeting resumed at 3.00pm.

Ann Thomas on behalf of Horowhenua Farmers Rate Payers Group spoke to their submission number 323.

Ann Thomas spoke to their submission number 326.

Christine Moriarty on behalf of Horowhenua District Residents & Rate Payers Association spoke to their submission number 392.

Christine Moriarty on behalf of Hokio Environmental & Kaitiaki Alliance spoke to their submission number 394.

Christine Moriarty spoke to their submission number 393.

Terry Hemmingsen on behalf of Horowhenua Grey Power spoke to their submission number 412.

Errol Brown spoke to their submission number 354.

# Councillor Olsen exited the meeting at 04:21 pm.

Sharon Williams on behalf of Hapai Te Hapori spoke to their submission number 298

# Councillor Olsen returned to the meeting at 04:23 pm.

Austin Robson spoke to their submission number 404.

Deanna Hanita-Paki on behalf of Lake Horowhenua Trust spoke to their submission number 387.



George Rutherford on behalf of Manakau District Community Association spoke to their submission number 320.

Irina Campbell spoke to their submission number 110

The meeting adjourned for a break at 5.30pm...

The meeting recommenced at 6.00pm.

Billy Madaleen spoke to their submission number 347.

Wayne Bishop on behalf of Wayne Bishop Group spoke to their submission number 414.

Wally Dalgliesh spoke to their submission number 391.

Peter Wells on behalf of Manawatu Mountain Bike club Inc. spoke to their submission number 310.

Stephan & Karen Prouse spoke to their submission number 303.

Cr Tamihana closed the meeting with a karakia.

The Mayor thanked all submitters for their time in presenting their view, and also thanked Officers for the assistance they had provided the meeting.

8:03 pm

There being no further business, the Chairperson declared the meeting closed.

CONFIRMED AS A TRUE AND CORRECT RECORD AT A MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD ON

**DATE:** 31 May 2023

CHAIRPERSON: