

Council OPEN MINUTES

Minutes of the Inaugural Meeting of Council held in the Council Chambers, 126-148 Oxford St, Levin, on Wednesday 30 October 2019 at 7.00 pm.

PRESENT

Mayor Mr B P Wanden Councillors Mr D A Allan

Mr R J Brannigan Mr S J R Jennings Mrs V M Kave-Simmons

Mr R R Ketu Mrs C B Mitchell Ms P Tukapua

IN ATTENDANCE

Mr D M Clapperton (Chief Executive)
Mrs K J Corkill (Meeting Secretary)

ALSO IN ATTENDANCE

Mr T J Chambers (Foxton Community Board)
Mr J F Girling (Foxton Community Board)
Ms P R Metcalf (Foxton Community Board)
Ms N J Newland (Foxton Community Board)
Mr D J Roache (Foxton Community Board)

MEDIA IN ATTENDANCE

Mr P Williams ("Chronicle")

Ms A Loo ("Manawatū Standard")

PUBLIC IN ATTENDANCE

There were approximately 75 people in attendance at the commencement of the meeting.

1 Welcome by Chief Executive - Presiding

Chief Executive, Mr David Clapperton, welcomed everyone to the Inaugural Meetings of both Council, and also the Foxton Community Board, following the triennial elections. This was a significant evening for Council and the Foxton Community Board, made all the more special by the large number of family and the public in attendance to witness the Mayor, Councillors and Foxton Community Board Members make their Declarations of Office.



Elected Members would be called up one by one and, with the korowai gifted to Council by Ngati Tukorehe on 2008, placed on their shoulders, they would make and sign their declaration of office. Of note this evening was that two elected members had chosen to make their declaration of office in Te Reo Māori.

2 Apologies

Apologies were recorded for Wayne Bishop, Todd Isaacs and Joanna Mason. They would be sworn in at a Council Meeting in November 2019.

NOTED

3 Declaration by His Worship the Mayor

His Worship the Mayor, Bernard Phillip Wanden JP, made and signed his Declaration of Office before the Chief Executive and then assumed the Chair.

A copy of the declaration is **attached** to the official minutes.

4 Declaration by Councillors

Councillors, in alphabetical order, made and signed their individual Declarations of Office before His Worship the Mayor, with Councillors Ketu and Tukapua making their declarations in Te Reo Maori.

A copy of each declaration is **attached** to the official minutes.

5 Legislation affecting Members of Council

The Chief Executive drew attention to the following legislation that affected members of Council, the Foxton Community Board, and members of staff, with each member being individually and directly responsible for understanding and complying with the requirements of each Act:

- (i) The Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987
- (ii) The Privacy Act 1993
- (iii) The Local Authorities (Members Interest) Act 1968
- (iv) Sections 99, 105 and 105A of the Crimes Act 1961
- (v) The Secret Commissions Act 1910
- (vi) The Financial Markets Conduct Act 2013;
- (vii) Health & Safety at Work Act 2015;
- (vi) Public Records Act 2005.

A summary of the legislation was appended to the Agenda and would be discussed in more detail with Councillors.

6 Appointment of Deputy Mayor

His Worship the Mayor advised that, following consultation with fellow Councillors, it was his pleasure to announce that Jo Mason would be Deputy Mayor of the Horowhenua District for this term, extending to her his congratulations.

7 Fixing of Date and Time for the First Ordinary Meeting of Council

It was agreed that the date for the first ordinary meeting of Council, as recommended by the Chief Executive, would be Wednesday, 13 November 2019 commencing at 4.00 pm.

Minutes Page 2



20 pm
20 pm

There being no further business, the meeting closed.

CONFIRMED AS A TRUE AND CORRECT RECORD AT A MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD ON

DATE:

CHAIRPERSON:

Minutes Page 3