

# Council

# **OPEN MINUTES**

Minutes of a reconvened meeting of Council held in the Council Chambers, 126-148 Oxford St, Levin, on Wednesday 12 May 2021 at 1.00 pm.

#### PRESENT

Mayor	Mr B P Wanden	
Deputy Mayor	Mrs J F G Mason	
Councillors	Mr D A Allan	
Mr W E R Bishop Mr R J Brannigan	Mr W E R Bishop	
	Mr R J Brannigan	(from 3.27 pm)
	Mr T N Isaacs	
	Mr S J R Jennings	
	Mrs V M Kaye-Simmons	
	Mrs C B Mitchell	
	Ms P Tukapua	

# **IN ATTENDANCE**

Reporting Officer	Mrs A Huria Mr D M Clapperton Mrs N Brady Mrs J Straker Mr D McCorkindale Mr B Maguire Mr K Peel Mrs L Slade Mr B Harvey Ms L Campbell	<ul> <li>(Projects Coordinator – Customer &amp; Strategy)</li> <li>(Chief Executive)</li> <li>(Deputy Chief Executive)</li> <li>(Chief Financial Officer)</li> <li>(Group Manager – Customer &amp; Strategy)</li> <li>(Group Manager – Infrastructure Development)</li> <li>(Group Manager – Infrastructure Operations)</li> <li>(Group Manager – People &amp; Culture)</li> <li>(Community Facilities &amp; Events Manager)</li> <li>(Strategic Communications Manager)</li> </ul>
	Mrs K J Corkill	(Meeting Secretary)(to 1.45 pm)

To address a procedural matter from the previous day, because the meeting had gone on longer than six hours, it was:

MOVED by Cr Wanden, seconded Cr Allan:

THAT the Horowhenua District Council records that the meeting on 11 May 2021 to hear submitters to the Draft Development Contributions Policy and Long Term Plan 2021-2041 continued passed the meeting duration of six hours set in Standing Order 4.2.

## **CARRIED**

## 1 Apologies

With Cr Ketu not joining the meeting yesterday via Zoom, and tendering an apology for today, and an apology for lateness having been received from Cr Brannigan, it was:.

MOVED by Cr Wanden, seconded Cr Kaye-Simmons:

THAT the apology from Cr Ketu, and the apology for lateness from Cr Brannigan be accepted.

## CARRIED

#### 2 Declarations of Interest

Yesterday's declarations of interest from Crs Bishop, Isaacs and Deputy Mayor Mason subsisted for today's meeting and they would withdraw from the table as required.

#### 3 Announcements

There were no announcements.

The following submitters spoke to their submissions on the draft Development Contributions Policy and/or the Draft Long Term Plan, adding further detail or emphasis and responding to Councillors' questions.

Submission 216 – Piero Lavo (via Zoom)

Submission 349 – Christina Paton Mrs Paton provided a copy of her further comments.

Submission 274 & 325 – Sue-Ann Russell (via Zoom)

Submission 414 – Eugene Henare Supporting information provided.

The meeting adjourned briefly awaiting the next submitter (1.45 – 1.50 pm)

Submission 447 – Vivienne Bold

Submission 383 – Totally Vets Ltd – Hugh Bentall

Submission 377 – John Martin Mr Martin provided a copy of his further comments.

Submission 141 – Adrienne Van Opdorp on behalf of Helen Cardiff

Submission 397 – Patricia Metcalf

The meeting adjourned at 2.45 pm, reconvening at 3.10 pm.

Submission 144 – Linda Whiti

Submission 307 – Horowhenua District Neighbourhood Support Inc - Anne Rogers, Deborah Campbell and Elaine Little As well as a PowerPoint presentation, supporting documentation was provided.

Cr Brannigan joined the meeting (3.27 pm)

Submission 395 & 494 – Andrew Paddison Mr Paddison provided a copy of his further comments.

Submission 456 – Gwyneth Schibli Ms Schibli supported her comments with a PowerPoint presentation.

Submission 64 – Horowhenua Equestrian Advocacy Group – Rick Schimpf Supporting information provided.

Submission 35 – Kāpiti Equestrian Advocacy Group – Michelle (Shelly) Warwick

Submission 443 – Instigator of "The Park Concept" – Marty Jarrett

Submission 389 – Federated Farmers of New Zealand – Manawatū/Rangitikei – Coralee Matena/Geoff Kane

The meeting adjourned for a meal break (5.25 - 6.00 pm).

Submission 343 – New Zealand Four Wheel Drive Association Inc – Grant Purdie

Submission 153 – Levin Waitārere Surf Life Saving Club – Barry Judd

Submission 301 – The Horowhenua Taste Trail – Catherine Lewis, Kathy Mitchell & Erica Guy Further information was supported by a PowerPoint presentation.

Submission 266 – Waitārere Beach Progressive & Ratepayers Association (WBPRA) – Bruce Eccles & Peter Rosewarne

Submission 251 – Cycle Waitārere Subcommittee of Waitārere Beach Progressive & Ratepayers Association – Annelies Hine & Steve Hirini

The meeting adjourned at 6.40 pm to reconvene tomorrow (13 May 2021) at 1.00 pm.

CONFIRMED AS A TRUE AND CORRECT RECORD AT A MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD ON

<u>DATE</u>:.....

CHAIRPERSON: