

Horowhenua District Council

2013 Triennial Elections

DECLARATION OF RESULT

The final result for the Horowhenua District Council elections held on Saturday 12th October is as follows.

Mayor	Votes Received
DUFFY, Brendan Joseph	6,524
HUNT, Anne	2,645
TUKAPUA, Piri-Hira Josephine	2,283
INFORMAL	13
BLANK VOTING PAPERS	235

Brendan Joseph Duffy is declared elected.

Kere Kere Ward (2 vacancies)		Votes Received
BRANNIGAN, Ross FEYEN, Michael	Independent	1,242 1,031
ALLAN, David ELLWOOD, Ngaire		801 730
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		1 21

Ross Brannigan and Michael Feyen are declared elected.

Miranui Ward (1 vacancy)	Votes Received
CAMPBELL, Ross	484
VINSEN, Bryan Victor	210
SHAW, Robbie	208
INFORMAL	3
BLANK VOTING PAPERS	4

Ross Campbell is declared elected.

Levin Ward (5 vacancies)		Votes Received
KAYE-SIMMONS, Victoria MASON, Jo GOOD, Garry TUKAPUA, Piri-Hira Josephine RUSH, Tony	Developing our Future. Preserving our Past	2,809 2,729 2,534 2,441 2,247
BERTRAM, Andrew GIMBLETT, Neville OLIFENT, John TEN HAVE, Bryan	4 Ratepayers	2,009 1,525 1,418 1,230

CLEATOR, Rosemary		1,176
GALLEY, Graeme		1,169
JEUNE, Margaret Anne	Independent	978
WILLIAMS, Peter C.		701
RACKLEY, Perry		672
WILLIAMS, Ginny		631
BULL, Graham	Independent	489
TANIWHA, Dion		418
INFORMAL		45
BLANK VOTING PAPERS		169

Garry Good, Victoria Kaye-Simmons, Jo Mason, Tony Rush and Piri-Hira Josephine Tukapua are declared elected.

Waiopehu Ward (2 vacancies)		Votes Received
MITCHELL, Christine BISHOP, Wayne		1,971 1,864
MORGAN, Guy TAUEKI, Phil	Independent	949 252
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		0 51

Wayne Bishop and Christine Mitchell are declared elected.

Foxton Community Board (5 vacancies)		Votes Received
SMART, Janine * FEYEN, Michael (WITHDRAWN) ROACHE, David VERTONGEN, Basil P METCALF, Tricia	Independent Independent	1,082 1,080 1,033 1,016 971
STREET, Amanda COUPE, Michael		863 734
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		1 35

(* Section 88A of the Local Electoral Act provides that if a person is declared to be elected as a member of the council, and that person is also declared to be elected as a member of a community board, that person must be treated as having vacated office as a member of the community board. As Michael Feyen was elected both as a Councillor and as a member of the Foxton Community Board, he automatically vacates his position as a member of the Board in favour of the next highest polling candidate, being Amanda Street.)

Tricia Metcalf, David Roache, Janine Smart, Amanda Street and Basil P Vertongen are declared elected.

The voter return was 52.63%, being 11,632 voting papers, excluding special votes.

Warwick Lampp Electoral Officer Horowhenua District Council 15 October 2013