

## NOTICE OF 2022 TRIENNIAL LOCAL AUTHORITY ELECTIONS

The following elections will be held by postal vote on Saturday 8 October 2022.

## **Horowhenua District Council**

(First Past the Post electoral system)

Election of the mayor

Election of two councillors for the Horowhenua (Māori) Ward

Election of two councillors for the Kere Kere Ward

Election of five councillors for the Levin Ward

Election of one councillor for the Miranui Ward

Election of two councillors for the Waiopehu Ward

Election of five members for the Te Awahou Foxton Community Board

Candidate names will be listed in alphabetical order on the voting papers.

## **Nominations**

Nominations for the listed positions open on **Friday 15 July 2022** and must be made on the appropriate nomination form for each position. Nomination forms and a candidate information handbook can be found either on the Horowhenua District Council website, or by request to the electoral officer via the contact options listed below. Completed nomination documents must be received by the electoral officer no later than **12noon on Friday 12 August 2022**. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of \$200 incl GST, payable by eftpos, cash or on-line banking (see candidate handbook for requirements).

Candidates are encouraged to submit a candidate profile statement and colour photograph with their nomination, for sending out with voting documents to electors. The requirements for profile statements and photos are set out in a candidate handbook which is available with the nomination forms. All nomination documents must be lodged together.

## **Electoral Rolls**

Preliminary electoral rolls for these elections can be inspected at the following locations during office hours from Friday 15 July 2022 to Friday 12 August 2022.

- Horowhenua District Council offices, 126-148 Oxford Street, Levin
- New Zealand Post Ltd, Levin
- Te Takeretanga o Kura-hau-pō, Levin
- Te Awahou Nieuwe Stroom, Foxton
- Shannon Service Centre/Library, Shannon
- Tokomaru Store and Takeaways Ltd, Tokomaru
- Waitārere Four Square, Waitārere Beach
- Manakau Dairy, Manakau

Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by contacting the Electoral Commission:

- Online at www.vote.nz
- By texting your name and address to 3676 to get a form sent to you
- By calling 0800 36 76 56 to ask for a form to be sent to you
- By email request to enquiries@elections.govt.nz

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 5pm on Friday 12 August 2022.

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available wherever copies of the electoral rolls are displayed and must be returned to the Horowhenua District Council electoral officer before 5pm Friday 12 August 2022. Online applications for ratepayer elector registration can also be made through the non-resident ratepayer portal: www.electionz.com/ratepayer

Warwick Lampp
Electoral Officer – Horowhenua District Council
PO Box 3138 Christchurch 8140
horowhenuadc@electionz.com
0800 666 048
www.horowhenua.govt.nz