HOROWHENUA DISTRICT COUNCIL

2007 Local Government Elections

DECLARATION OF RESULT OF ELECTION

In accordance with section 86 of the Local Electoral Act 2001, I hereby declare the results for the following election held on Saturday 13 October 2007.

I confirm that the official result was determined after the scrutiny of the roll was completed, the validity of all special votes was determined and all valid votes were counted.

Mayoralty

(One (1) Candidate to be elected)

Candidate Received	Votes
DUFFY, Brendan Joseph	5300
HUNT, Anne	4854
HUFFADINE, Gary	425
INFORMAL	18
BLANK VOTING PAPERS	169

I therefore declare Brendan Joseph DUFFY to be elected.

COUNCILLORS, Kere Kere Ward

(Two (2) Councillors to be elected)

Candidate Received	Votes
HUNT, Anne	1446
ALLAN, David	954
COOKSEY, Marlene	703
INFORMAL	0
BLANK VOTING PAPERS	80

I therefore declare David ALLAN and Anne HUNT to be elected.

COUNCILLORS, Levin Ward

(Five (5) Councillors to be elected)

Candidate Received	Votes
COLLING, Dave	4325
JUDD, Barry	3477
GOOD, Garry	2953
GRIFFEN-MCMEEKEN, Leigh	2865
RUSH, Tony	2535
SMITH, Mike	2412

THOMPSON, Graeme HARRISON, Christopher RAUTAHI, Pariri	Independent	2387 1744 1675
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		9 90

I therefore declare Dave COLLING, Garry GOOD, Leigh GRIFFEN-MCMEEKEN, Barry JUDD and Tony RUSH to be elected.

COUNCILLORS, Waiopehu Ward

(Two (2) Councillors to be elected)

Candidate Received	Votes
MURRAY, Nathan	1348
KEENAN, Peter	1172
ECCLES, Bruce	1038
HURIA, Roland	673
INFORMAL	3
BLANK VOTING PAPERS	99

I therefore declare Peter KEENAN and Nathan MURRAY to be elected.

MEMBERS, Foxton Community Board

(Five (5) Members to be elected)

Candidate Received GIMBLETT, Neville VERTONGEN, Basil Phillip ROACHE, David ELLWOOD, Ngaire MURDOCH, Tony		Votes 1081 1017 993 809 607
THOMPSON, Ingrid PILGRIM, David WILLIAMS, Keith COUPE, Michael PEACH, Brian H	Independent Independent	560 474 448 430 257
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		2 37

I therefore declare Ngaire ELLWOOD, Neville GIMBLETT, Tony MURDOCH, David ROACHE and Basil Phillip VERTONGEN to be elected.

The Voter Return Percentage is approximately 49.9%, excluding special votes

Dated at Levin this 17th day of October 2007.

Warwick Lampp Electoral Officer Horowhenua District Council