Creative Communities Scheme

Horowhenua District Council administers the Creative Communities NZ Scheme on behalf of Creative New Zealand. For the 2019/2020 financial year they have allocated an amount of $34,910 to the Horowhenua District to be dispersed to individuals and organisations for projects that increase participation in, (or access to), the Arts.

Applications Closed for Round 2 - 2019/2020

The second round of Creative Communities closed on Friday 28 February 2020.

Nominations closed for Horowhenua Creative Communities Committee

Nominations for the Horowhenua Creative Communities Committee closed on Friday 7 February 2020.

The committee meets at least twice each year to determine the outcomes of applications lodged under the Horowhenua Creative Communities Grant Scheme, funded by Creative New Zealand. Members include District Councillors and community representatives from performing arts, fine arts, music and cultural arts backgrounds.

Being a part of the committee also comes with other responsibilities which include:

  • attending meetings and events held by the scheme
  • receiving reports and discussing completed projects
  • discussing and making recommendations for local promotion of the scheme
  • electing new members to the committee.

Committee members serve for a fixed period of up to three years and may serve for only two consecutive periods.

Criteria and Accountability Form

Creative Communities Scheme - 2019-20 Criteria Guide for Applicants(PDF, 225KB)
Creative Communities Scheme Accountability Form(PDF, 326KB)

Creative Communities Logo Use

Logo Use of the Creative Communities Scheme logo in marketing material is required by successful applicants. This logo is available for downloading below. For instructions on how to use the logo, please visit the Creative New Zealand website.

Find out more

For further information please visit the CCNZ website.

For further information on the nomination process please phone Council on (06) 366 0999 or email