MINUTES OF THE SHANNON COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT TRUST ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON MONDAY 26 SEPTEMBER 2016 AT THE SHANNON SERVICE CENTRE, PLIMMER TERRACE, SHANNON, COMMENCING AT 5.30 PM

PRESENT:	Mr John Williams (Chair) Mr Fred Kilmister Cr Ross Campbell Mr Robbie Shaw
	Mr Garreth Stevens (Meeting Secretary)
ALSO PRESENT:	Mrs Denise Kidd, Community Services Manager (HDC) Mr Craig Elliot Mrs Judy Drake
APOLOGIES:	Ms Tyrill Winiata

1. Welcome

Mr Williams opened the meeting at 5:35pm and welcomed members of the public; Mr Craig Elliot and Mrs Judy Drake. All in attendance introduced themselves.

2. <u>Apologies</u>

Moved: Mr Williams Seconded: Mr Kilmister

"THAT the apology from Ms Winiata be accepted" <u>CARRIED</u>

3. <u>Confirmation of Minutes – AGM 8 September 2015</u>

Moved: Cr Campbell Seconded: Mr Shaw

"THAT the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 8 September 2015 be confirmed as a true and correct record." CARRIED

3.1. <u>Matters Arising</u>

There were no matters arising.

4. <u>Annual Report</u>

The report was stepped through. Mr Stevens pointed out the \$10,686.00 of commitments on page 8 of the report, which represented the total amount of grants approved in advance (funding set aside, contingently).

Moved: Mr Shaw Seconded: Cr Campbell

"THAT the Annual Report be received and accepted" CARRIED

5. <u>Chairperson's Report</u>

Mr Williams wished to make a formal apology for the spelling of Ms Tyrill Winiata's name in the Chairperson's Report.

Moved: Mr Williams Seconded: Cr Campell

"THAT the Chairperson's Report for 2016 be received and accepted." <u>CARRIED</u>

6. <u>Secretary's Report</u>

Mr Stevens spoke briefly to items and thanked the Trust for a positive working relationship. Mr Williams thanked Council and Mr Stevens for the continued support to the trust, which otherwise would not be able to perform to the standard that it did.

Moved: Mr Stevens Seconded: Mr Kilmister

"THAT the Secretary's Report for 2016 be received and accepted." <u>CARRIED</u>

Mr Fred Kilmister wished it to be known that he was retiring voluntarily at the end of the next funding meeting (scheduled for later that evening).

John and the committee thanked Mr Kilmister for his service.

<u>Action:</u> The Trust Secretary will appropriate arrangements to seek an additional trustee sought within the next six months, in accordance with the Trust Deed.

Mr Craig Elliot and Mrs Judy Drake expressed an interest in standing for the Trust if the opportunity was offered.

7. Election of Chairperson 2016/2017

Garreth chaired item 7 and called for nominations from the members of the committee for the position of chairperson until the 2017 AGM.

Moved: Cr Campbell Seconded: Mr Shaw

"THAT Mr John Williams be elected chairperson of the Shannon Community Development Trust for the next year.

<u>CARRIED</u>

8. <u>General Business</u>

Mr Williams raised the topic of repeat funding. The Trust was imposing a three year stand down on successful applicants to the grant, and Mr Williams wanted to discuss whether this was a good policy.

Mr Stevens advised that the Trust Deed did not set restrictions to repeat funding, and that the wording on repeat funding in the criteria approved at the last AGM is:

"Allocation of a grant in one year does not automatically guarantee funding in future years. Funding priority may be given to applicants who have not received a Shannon Community Development Trust grant in the last three years."

Therefore, the limit imposed by the Trust was totally voluntary.

Trustees discussed this for some time, including speculation that another copy of the Trust Deed had been circulated at some point. Mr Stevens mentioned that he had never seen another signed version of the Trust Deed, nor any memorandums to add to or modify the deed in its original format

It was determined that no changes needed to be made to the Trust Deed or the criteria of the Grant, and that repeat funding could be awarded at the discretion of the trust, in line with the wording in the criteria.

There being no further business, Chair John Williams declared the meeting closed at 6.15 pm.

Chairperson:	
Chairperson.	

Date:	
Date.	