Rubbish & Recycling

Horowhenua District Council provides Solid Waste (rubbish) disposal facilities for residents and visitors to our District through a Kerbside Bag Collection service, and by providing Waste Transfer Stations in Foxton and Shannon.

A Kerbside Recycling operation is also provided to compliment the kerbside refuse collection. Five permanent recycling stations are provided at Tokomaru, Opiki, Foxton, Shannon and Levin, and three summer recycling stations are provided at Waitarere Beach, Waikawa Beach and Foxton Beach over the summer period. Further information is provided below.

Kerbside Rubbish & Recycling Services

Find out more about Council's rubbish and recycling services including collection days.

Waste Transfer & Recycling Stations

Find out more about Council's Waste Transfer Stations and recycling stations including locations and opening hours.

Fees & Charges - Rubbish and Recycling

Council's rubbish and recycling fees and charges for the current financial year can be viewed here.

Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

Look for frequently asked questions and answers about Council's recycling operation here, including what can and can't be recycled and how to pack Council recycling crates.

Hazardous Substances

Information about hazardous substances, their handling and control.

Mobile Phone Recycling

Horowhenua District Council is proud to be a collection point for old mobile phones, with a collection bin provided at our main office in Levin.